Football has been a great event in human lives as soon as it came out. It has won the hearts of more than a million fans throughout the globe. Football takes an integral part of the players themselves as well as the spectators who can’t live without it anymore once they tasted the depth of this exciting sport.

This kind of sport is considered not only a way to get positive emotions but to start earning some money from your favorite pastime as well by placing a bet. Year by year there are a lot of football tournaments which take place in every country. Football has been a part of Indian culture so far. Every year it improves its worthiness to be played and participate in a form of different home leagues and tournaments. It has been especially popular in states of India such as Goa, Mizoram, West Bengal, Kerala, and others. The introduction of the Indian Super League in 2014 has renewed the vision and strengthened the interest in the sport across the country. Therefore, other home football tournaments in India have been carried out within the country that expresses the rich heritage of football to boast about.

Football Leagues

Indian punters can keep track of their favorite football tournaments in India 2021 in terms of the best sportsbook on the official website Thanks to its developed and accessible platform, Indian football fans can enjoy the live streaming option of matches and undertake live betting when it unfolds wherever they are. This brings more thrill and lifts their morale to keep watching, backing, and betting on their favorite team. To be able to keep in touch with lovely football leagues India at popular sportsbook Parimatch India, simple steps should be taken into consideration:

Then all betting markets and options are available to back the favorites and win real money by betting at valuable odds. Here are the major football leagues India being held every year.

Hero I-League

Indian Hero I–League is a national football league carried out by the All Indian Football Federation (AIFF). It was formed in 2007 and was previously called the National Football League (NFL). It is one of the two premier football leagues in India. And nine sessions of this league have been held so far across the country. 11 clubs are partaking and contesting in the I-League. They are Mohammedan Sporting Club, Sudeva Delhi FC, TRAU FC, NEROCA FC, Aizawl FC, Gokulam Kerala FC, Chennai City FC, Punjab FC, Real Kashmir FC, Churchill Brothers, and Indian Arrows. It operates on the system of promotion and relegation.

Calcutta Football League

Calcutta Football League India (CFL) is considered the oldest football league in Asia which kicked off in 1898. It is also deemed as one of the oldest football leagues in the world. Generally, CFL is conducted in the city of Kolkata by 157 based clubs and units across six divisions. Live Calcutta Football League consists of about 8500 registered players of the Indian Football Association who take part in this league.

Indian Super League

The Indian Super League (ISL) is the youngest football league in Indian which started on October 12, 2014. This tournament is currently held by 11 teams that are Mumbai City FC, NorthEast United FC, ATK Mohun Bagan FC, Bengaluru FC, FC Goa, Hyderabad FC, Jamshedpur FC, Chennaiyin FC, Kerala Blasters FC, Odisha FC, and SC East Bengal. The Indian Super League is based on the franchise model of IPL lines. Unlike most football leagues in the world, ISL football India does not provide any system of promotion and relegation.

The winner in the first season of the league was ATK Mohun Bagan FC. In ISL each club plays each other in a double round-robin format and the top–four clubs at the end of the regular season advance to the playoffs. The entire ISL 2020–2021 season is being held at three stadiums in Goa due to the pandemic of coronavirus. 

 Cup Competitions

Nowadays, the major football tournaments in India are available at Parimatch as well. This opportunity enables the punters not to miss any important tournament  — leagues or cup competitions — and keep watching them. The match schedule on Parimatch India allows the punters to track important sports events and make their time properly. Moreover, they can see the score of each match and the prediction for upcoming matches to be able to wager proficiently. So, the Indian bettor can place the bets on Parimatch official site easily and smoothly.

Durand Cup

The third oldest cup competition after the Scottish Cup and the FA Cup, football Durand Cup was first conducted in 1888. This tournament is named after its founder Sir Mortimer Durand. It was instructed as an Army football tournament for British Indian Army troops that later changed to a civilian one. Its base was located in Shimla, but later in 1940, it was relocated to Delhi. This cup competition contains 16 teams contesting. The most successful teams winning the Durand Cup trophy India are currently SC East Bengal and Mohun Bagan FC.

Federation Cup

Indian Football Federation Cup kicked off in 1977 and used to be the premier cup competition in India until the I–League was introduced in 1997 under its old name National Football League. It was an annual round-robin and knockout based tournament. With the advent of other popular Indian tournaments, Indian Federation Cup had some stoppages and great changes in the process of its further implementation since 1999. There were some issues with sponsors and changes in formats that led to its recesses and new start-ups. But since ISL showed up, the importance of the Indian Federation Cup has reduced. The last Federation Cup was held in 2017 with the winner Bengaluru FC.

IFA Shield

The IFA Shield is regarded as the second popular football tournament after the football Durand Cup. It was founded in 1893 and named after the Indian Football Association. During its initial years of existence, the IFA Shield was dominated by British teams until Mohun Bagan FC defeated the Yorkshire Regiment team in 1911 and claimed the trophy. This event is considered a significant moment in the history of Indian football.

Santosh Trophy

Santosh Trophy is the cup competition that is contested by different football state associations and government institutions under the All Indian Football Federation (AIFF). It started in 1941 and is named after Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh who served as President of the IFA.  The tournament is held with 31 teams. They are divided into groups and have to qualify for the tournament proper through the preliminary round. The first winners of Santosh Trophy tournaments India were Bengal. Owing to the pandemic of coronavirus, the final round of Santosh Trophy 2019–2020 has been postponed. So, Indian fans expect fresh dates and that the Santosh Trophy 2021 will end in 2021. 

Indian Super Cup

The Indian football Super Cup is the tournament contested between the winner of I–League and the Federation Cup. It was set as a replacement for the Indian Federation Cup in 2018. The winner of the first season of Indian Super Cup matches is Bengaluru FC, the winner of the second season is Goa FC. Accordingly, the third season of the tournament in 2020 has been suspended for the reason of the COVID–19 pandemic in India.

Parimatch India is at Indian football punters’ disposal. Its functionality allows them to keep in touch with their favorite football tournaments in India 2021 and place directly the bets on Parimatch official site. To be able to do that, they need to sign in to the Parimatch website and enjoy watching the national tournaments.